Welcome! (updated)

12 Aug

Scouting for Hope

An Event for Family & Friends to Share Hope after the Loss of a Child

Friday, October 1, 2010

Keynote Speaker: Angie Smith, Nashville, TN

7:30 PM, First Baptist Church, Shelby, NC

*Doors will open at 7:00 PM & seating will be on a first-come basis

This October, in recognition of Pregnancy & Infant Loss Awareness Month, First Baptist Church of Shelby, NC will host a community-wide event to provide support and hope to families who have lost children via miscarriage, stillbirth, and infant death. The event will feature keynote speaker, Angie Smith. Angie is the author of I Will Carry You: The Sacred Dance of Grief and Joy, and wife of Selah singer, Todd Smith. Angie has a popular blog, The Story of Audrey Caroline, which inspired her to write her book. Selah also released a track entitled “I Will Carry You (Audrey’s Song)” on their album, You Deliver Me. This event will serve as a time of music, prayer, sharing, and inspiration for families and individuals who have been touched by the loss of a child. Scouting for Hope aims to promote awareness of the pregnancy and infant loss that many families experience alone, and ultimately to provide an uplifting reminder that when we join together to ‘scout’ for hope, we will surely find it in Jesus.
*Nursery care will be provided at the event for families with other small children.
UPDATE: Angie’s husband, Todd of the Christian music group Selah, will also be singing at the event.
6 Responses to “Welcome! (updated)”

  1. Jessica bell September 18, 2010 at 7:34 PM #

    I am soo excited to be able to get to come to this,my mom is the one who told me about.My daughter lannie grace bell was born into heaven may,04,2007,at 38 weeks,she also had trisomy 18.was wondering is there tickets we need to get, Hope to hear from you soon:)

    • Scouting for Hope September 20, 2010 at 1:59 PM #

      Jessica, we are so glad you’re coming! You do not need tickets. Seating will be on a first-come basis and doors will open at 7:00 PM and the event will begin at 7:30.

  2. Lindsay October 1, 2010 at 7:39 PM #

    Hi! I’ve been a reader of Angie Smith’s blog for about 2 years now, and am quite excited to hear her speak. Although I have never lost a child of my own, I have walked the journey with one of my closest friends. However, my husband is a bit concerned that we may be out of place attending the event. Is this evening open to couples who come in support of others, even though we have never exactly stood in their shoes?

    • Scouting for Hope October 1, 2010 at 7:57 PM #

      Lindsay,
      My name is Hope & I’m a good friend of Tara and Trey. I haven’t lost a baby either, so I wanted to tell you that it is absolutely open to couples who are there for support. I know there will be many of us there! Having read Angie’s book as well, I can tell you that her words will be meaningful to everyone who attends, no matter what their life experience. So I do hope you’ll come! We’re all very excited!

  3. Beth October 3, 2010 at 12:25 AM #

    I had a wonderful time at this event last night. The best speakers on baby loss that I have seen.

    Will the photos be posted anywhere?

    • Scouting for Hope October 4, 2010 at 12:22 PM #

      Yes! We will post pictures here once they’ve been edited.

Leave a Reply

